Cochrane-Fountain City School District Special School Board Meeting April 22, 2019

Vice President Rita Greshik called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. in the high school library. Board members present were Larry Cyrus, Kalene Engel, Rita Greshik, Lynn Doelle, Karen Knospe, Bonnie Breza, and Areny Bork. Others present were Tom Hiebert, Michele Butler, Karen Domine, Wendy Hiebert, and Donna Baertsch.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Rita Greshik attested to the publication of the meeting.

Consideration of Adjustments to the Agenda

Kalene Engel made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by Larry Cyrus. Motion carried.

Board Organization

A. Policy 141 Board Officers-Election of Officers

- 1. **President** Rita Greshik opened the floor for nominations for School Board President. Kalene Engel nominated Karen Knospe. Larry Cyrus seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations. Bonnie Breza motioned to cast a unanimous vote for Karen Knospe as President, seconded by Kalene Engel. Motion carried. Karen Knospe was named School Board President for 2019-2020.
- 2. Vice President Karen Knospe opened the floor for nominations for School Board Vice President. Bonnie Breza nominated Larry Cyrus. Kalene Engel seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations. Bonnie Breza motioned to cast a unanimous vote for Larry Cyrus as Vice President, seconded by Kalene Engel. Motion carried. Larry Cyrus was named School Board Vice President for 2019-2020.
- **3. Clerk** Karen Knospe opened the floor for nominations for School Board Clerk. Rita Greshik nominated Bonnie Breza. Kalene Engel seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations. Kalene Engel motioned to cast a unanimous vote for Bonnie Breza as Clerk, seconded by Rita Greshik. Motion carried. Bonnie Breza was named School Board Clerk for 2019-2020.
- **4. Treasurer** Karen Knospe opened the floor for nominations for School Board Treasurer. Larry Cyrus nominated Lynn Doelle. Kalene Engel seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations. Bonnie Breza motioned to cast a unanimous vote for Lynn Doelle as Treasurer, seconded by Kalene Engel. Motion carried. Lynn Doelle was named School Board Treasurer for 2019-2020.
- **B.** Policy 170 Regular and Special Board Meetings After discussion, it was agreed that the regular school board meetings will be held on the 3rd Wednesday of each month.
- **C. Policy 142 School District Legal Counsel** Kalene Engel made a motion to continue using Dean Dietrich of Dietrich VanderWaal as legal counsel. Larry Cyrus seconded the motion. Motion carried.

D. Policy 165.1 School Board Member Conflicts of Interest 1. Completion of Government and Conflict of Interest Forms

Conflict of interest forms were handed to every Board member for completion.

E. Policy 185 Standing Committees of the School Board Standing committees and members are listed below. (starred name is chairperson) Communication-Bonnie Breza*, Lynn Doelle, Areny Bork Curriculum-Larry Cyrus*, Bonnie Breza, Areny Bork Finance and Budget-on hold at Ms. Butler's request General Services-on hold Human Resources-Karen Knospe*, Kalene Engel, Rita Greshik Policy-Kalene Engel*, Rita Greshik, Lynn Doelle

Page 2 Special School Board Meeting April 23, 2018

F. Policy 186 Ad Hoc Committees Created by the Board

Ad Hoc committees and members are listed below. Administration Negotiations-Kalene Engel, Rita Greshik, Larry Cyrus Handbook subcommittee-Kalene Engel POC-Larry Cyrus, Karen Knospe Wellness-Rita Greshik, Areny Bork Credit Review Committee-Kalene Engel CESA #4 Representative-Larry Cyrus WASB Delegate-Karen Knospe, alternate Larry Cyrus TIF-Karen Knospe Buffalo County Economic Development-Lynn Doelle

- G. Board Development Policy 153 Board Self-Evaluation and Goal Setting Policy 121.1 Strategic Planning and Goals Policy 163 Board Member Development and Activities These policies will be discussed by the Board at a work session in July.
- **H. Board President Appointed Graduation Representatives** Karen Knospe and Rita Greshik will be the graduation representatives.

Review Timeline and Items for Future Board Agendas and Meetings:

A. Wednesday, May 15, 2019	Regular Meeting	6:30 p.m.
		•
B. Wednesday, June 19, 2019	Regular Meeting	6:30 p.m

Adjourn: Kalene Engel made a motion to adjourn at 8:15 p.m., seconded by Rita Greshik. Motion carried.